Marcus H

RAC/25D Service & Pay Book

12 posts in this topic

This is one of my latest eBay purchases - Soldier's Service & Pay Book or 'AB 64' (Army Book 64)

A rather tatty - and understanbly so given this soldiers environment - 'AB 64' to 7938274, Lance Corporal Colin Fletcher, 25th Dragoons/RAC; an Electrician Class 3.

A former window cleaner by trade on enlistment, and if the fathers address (next of kin) is anything to go by a Nottinghamshire lad - being Worksop, Notts. 

Unfortunately, a few personnel details have been omitted by blotting them out.

He has personalised the book cover with a drawing of the 25D badge and the 14th (XIV) Army emblem design on the reverse.

Also, on the inside of the front cover there are the letters 'L' and 'R' (left and right) with two (I assume) thumb prints..? Is that conventional?

Also, the photograph, I suspect this is later war or perhaps even post hostilities. He has the second pattern RAC cap badge (worn from 1942) and what would appear to be a rank chevron (promoted 12th March, 1945), I think also I see a part of his RAC service strip, plus on his uniform epaulettes a slip-on shoulder title (RAC) and the RAC lanyard, too.

The Battle Dress I can hazard a guess at that, however does anyone see any tell-tales regarding that?

So, he's likely an attached RAC Tradesman as such, than actually badged to the 25D.

I only received this yesterday in the post, but I'll attempt to discover more about the former owner - albeit a struggle with WW2 personnel.

Best,

Marcus 

Please login or register to see this attachment.

2 people like this

A fine pick up Marcus.  I have a few Ab 64's and other army books.  One has his hometown/parish details snipped out of it.  These are often in bad condition, they are quite flimsy and have to accompany the soldier wherever he served, though great things to have IMO.