Historical War Militaria Forum
FIREBIRDC9

The WW2 PTO Weapons Collection

FIREBIRDC9    9

Hi All 

I am a bit of a newbie in terms of collecting!

Started out about 3 years ago with a Springfield M1903A3 ,  which i have swapped for the Arisaka pictured :)

I have a little collection based upon the early days of the Pacific campaign between the USMC and the IJA in places such as Guadalcanal or Tulagi

I have items from both sides.

I cannot guarantee if these weapons were used in the pacific ,  but they do portray examples of the kind that would have been seen

All guns are Deactivated to UK specifications

guns_of_guadalcanal__militaria_collectio

Starting from the Top!

An Unknown make M1 Bayonet that i intend to get rid of ,   (I have ordered a Genuine M1942 by Utica that will replace this)

A Replica MK2 Pineapple Grenade (tempted to give this a yellow coating so it matches the earlier grenades used in Guadalcanal.

A 1942 Dated M1903 Springfield by Remington 

Its Serial number is 3194470 which dates the receiver to August 1942.

The Barrel is dated 7 - 42 so a month before the receiver.    This adds up as many barrels were produced a month before being fitted to a receiver and stock.

american_m1903_springfield_rifle___remin

• Like 2

FIREBIRDC9    9

japanese_type_38_arisaka___koshikawa_ars

Next up is the Type 38 Arisaka by Koshikawa Arsenal 

Its an early rifle before the use of series marks.

The gun is Serial Number - 1,893,545
Koshikawa Arsenal produced 2,029,000 guns from 1906 - 1935 (After this , series marks were used and production moved to Kokura)

The gun retains it Imperial Chrysanthemum which can be seen on the receiver.  This meant that rather being surrendered after the war , this Gun may have been captured in the field instead.

type_38_arisaka_chrysanthemum_by_firebir

The Kanji reads downwards "38 Type"     

Also pictured are two Type 30 Bayonets 

bayonets_of_the_rising_sun_2_by_firebird