Historical War Militaria Forum
aledoux

German WWI Photograph of Great grandfather Help with 50th Division?

Hello,

My German Great-grandfather Peter Gernsheimer sent this WWI photo postcard to his daughter and her husband. On the back is a short note.  The following is the best translation I have been able to obtain.  There are a couple of words we can not figure out. .  I am assuming (maybe wrongly) that this is the 50th division.  Sadly I do not know which of the men he is.  I know that he was 55 y/o and married at the time he wrote it.  Can anyone identify what this photo might be about.  I read that this division was formed in 1915 the same year that this was written and sent.  The uniforms sure look all new.  Can anyone direct me toward a roster of this unit and a synopsis on what this division might have done.  Are there other photos of this division out here somewhere that I might search.  Peter Gernsheimer (1860-1935) lived in Worms his entire life.  Total novice here on military history. Any help is appreciated

Postcard translation:

To Philipp Kramer
Worms Neuhausen
Kirchgasse

Sibret 6/14/1915
Dear Philipp and Kathe, I send you this picture of me. I let it make in …. but it is not so nice as in Worms.
Dear Philipp and Kathe I wish you are in good health and I hope to see you soon.

Hearty greetings from your father...

Please login or register to see this attachment.

Please login or register to see this attachment.

• Like 1