Historical War Militaria Forum

Hello there.

I am fairly new in this subject, so I need some of your professional help. 
Can you help me to figure out whether this is a fake or an original? I can see no stamps.
And why or why not it is an original or not. I would be very happy for any help here.

Tom

Please login or register to see this attachment.

Interesting tom.I would have thought post war 1945 - pre 1957 versions would have more current hardware.Pin,clasp,hinge,enameling etc.If this was a post war issue,you would not expect so much wear to the badge.Cheers Wolf.

Hi Wolf. Thank you for your feedback. I am still out in the dark here. And after all I guess I just have to look at it as a copy.
I payed probably to much for it if it is a copy and to little for it if is should end up being an original..... Tom  

I  am  sorry  to  say  this is not  an original  war time  cross. . An  excellent  reference  work on  this  cross is  available  authored  by  Dietrich Maerz. Before  I  bought  my  DKiG I  bought  the  book  and  studied the individual  makers of  the  award. The  cost of  such  items  is  so  high  that the  price of  the  book  pales into  insignificance.

Mine  is  a  Zimmermann  marked  20.

• Like 1

Hi Jim. Thank you very much for the information and for tip about the reference book. I will check it out.
And it is a very nice DKiG you have there. 
Tom

I might be wrong, but I believe this cross is described as an unknown maker in Dietrich's book, I should look it up again. Whoever made it, also made a 57er variant (see Deschler in attached pics).

Personally don't believe it's pre 45, the quality of the enamel is not good enough IMO.

Regards,

Nick

• Like 1

Hi Tom,

The wreath on your example definitely matches the cross on page 238 in Dietrich's book, however that one sports a wartime style Zimmermann hardware and as has been said the maker is unknown.....

I'd advice you to put it up for discussion on WAF and report back here.:smile: